Calling All Spiritual Youth

This is the culminating project for my World Religions course. I am collecting personal accounts and perspectives of people between the ages of 12 and 25 about how they are individually affected by their experiences of religion and spirituality. I am trying to find connections, similarities, and differences among youth from as many different religions and forms of belief as possible. I’ll be posting excerpts from the responses I receive, plus my analysis, comparisons, and my own reflections.

How have your, or other people’s, beliefs affected you?

Have you had a spiritual experience that has changed your life?

Have you ever struggled with religious identity?

Have you ever faced problems because of your beliefs or practice?

If you have lost your faith, is there a way in which you still connect with the spiritual?

Please send me your reflections, stories, and thoughts on these questions or any other topics that you think would be important to share. Pictures that reflect your religious practice are also encouraged.

I will not disclose your name or contact information, but I will use your age, gender, and religion.

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

2 Comments on “Calling All Spiritual Youth”

  1. Darrell Says:

    Religion is truth, Truth is sound or so my ears were told…

    I listened because they told me too, everything else was a sham…
    Lies of old men from tea rooms and fishing vessels,
    They were passed on for a thousands years and changed yet the message remained the same
    The message was their truth, kept in scripture and embeded into the temples of their time

    people agreed….but I did not….I found a guitar and created my own

    Religion is sound, sound is truth, my ears told me so…

    Darrell J. Shelley

  2. Anonymous Says:

    This blog is wonderful. The old adage of one man’s terrorist is another man’s freedom fighter seems to equally apply here: one person’s gauche is another person’s avant guarde.
    The greatest revolution in the culture of the twentieth century, rather obviously, was consumption of the popular art form as a major staple via mass media so, since we possess a musician in the room (or, more accurately, a ghost from a few weeks past), I should mention that an idea of the rock star as Godhead, as a “leper/leather Messiah” was central to two great front men in rock in their prime: David Bowie and Jim Morrison.
    I recall, too, Bob Dylan in Rolling Stone in 1978 offering after being born again: “Music attracts the angels in the universe.”


Leave a Reply

